Are You Required to Register as a Sex Offender in California?
For 50 years California has required dangerous sex offenders to register with local authorities. However, this registration was not made public record until the passing of Megan's Law in 1996.
Now sex offenders are required to register with local authorities for the rest of their life if they live in, work in or go to school in the State of California. Their information will be made public so that anyone with a computer can have access to the current whereabouts of a convicted sex offender. Some of the crimes where a person would be required to register are:
- Sexual Battery
- Lewd acts with a minor
- Child pornography
- Indecent exposure
- Child prostitution
Legal Consequences of Failing to Register as a Sex Offender
If you fail to register as a sex offender, the legal consequences under California Penal Code 290 PC depend on the type of sexual related offense that required you to register. If you intentionally failed to register after a misdemeanor conviction or juvenile adjudication, you could be convicted of a misdemeanor offense and sentenced up to one year in county jail.
If you intentionally failed to register as a sex offender after a felony conviction or juvenile adjudication, you can be convicted of a felony criminal offense and sentenced to state prison for 16 months, 2 years or 3 years (Penal Code § 290.018(b).) Even if the courts decides to grant you probation, you must still serve a minimum of 90 days in county jail.
Other circumstances that could affect the legal consequences include classification as a sexually violent predator or as a transient. Consulting with an experienced sex crime defense lawyer about the details of your sex crime case is crucial to understanding the consequences you may be facing and obtaining the most favorable outcome possible.
The Impact of Registration
The information that will be made available to the public will be your name, a photo, identifying information such as height/weight, hair color, physical identifying marks like tattoos or scars, known aliases and what it was you were charged with.
This information must be updated by the convicted person with the authorities yearly within 5 days of your birthday or within 5 days after moving residences. If you are required to register as a sex offender it is in your best interest to contact a defense attorney who can help ensure that you are fulfilling the requirements.
Contact Our Law Firm For a Consultation
It can happen that an individual fails to register in error. A criminal defense lawyer at Cron, Israels & Stark can assist you with the defense of failing the requirement of registering as a sex offender.
There are many reasons this could occur, and defenses could be pursued following an initial consultation with our office. Being required to register as a sex offender can be devastating to one's life and one's career and can leave one isolated.
Failing to register can cause further anguish in the form of further imprisonment, with serious consequences including additional convictions of misdemeanor or felony charges. Our firm will do everything possible to get you the best outcome regarding your failure to register. Contact our office today for a free initial consultation.